www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Builders Reports

NetBots v0.001
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic
  Author    Thread
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  
NetBots v0.001

Installation

For Ubuntu
In terminal
1. sudo apt-get install python-numpy python-twisted python-pygame skype
2. skype &
3. cd ~/Downloads
4. wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/815267/client.py && python client.py
5. call RobowarsNetBot through skype (you dont need to have them added)

For windows XP.
1. Install skype - www.skype.com
2. Install Python 2.7.x - http://www.python.org/getit/
3. Install Numpy - http://sourceforge.net/projects/numpy/files/NumPy/ (Get latest version for python 2.7)
4. Install Twisted - http://twistedmatrix.com/trac/wiki/Downloads (Get version for python 2.7)
5. Install Pygame - http://pygame.org/download.shtml (Get version for python 2.7)
6. Install Python Setup Tools - http://pypi.python.org/pypi/setuptools#files (Get version for python 2.7)
7. Start -> Run -> "C:\Python27\Scripts\easy_install zope.interface" (without quotes)
8. Download - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/815267/client.py
9. Run - Client.py You may have to right click and go run in python launcher or similar. (You should now be able to drive around some arrows on the screen. This means its working.)
10. With Skype Call - RobowarsNetBot (you dont need to have them added)
11. Drive Robots with Arrow Keys/WASD , Weapon Return/Q keys

Still buggy and lots of issues to work out but getting there.

FAQ
I can't connect with client? - What is your error? If its a twisted error that server is not available I have probably not got it up.
I can't connect to skype. - Someone else is probably using it
I connect to skype but video doesn't automatically start. - Disconnect and reconnect


Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com


Last edited by marto on Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:05 pm; edited 4 times in total

Post Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:13 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

I took it offline after Don had a play with. Skype lag was pretty bad.

I need to get tracking working so you can use that for driving and then watch video.
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:56 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

Robot interface should be back up. This time with tracking. You should be able to login though I haven't plugged in the robot atm. Will in the morning and see how long it lasts.

Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:59 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
seanet1310



Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1265
Location: Adelaide


 Reply with quote  

Very nice work steve.
Just had a bit of a play driving a bot up in QLD.
WASD and robot movement of arrows on screen was very responsive. Skype video was not too bad 0.5-1s delay so should be usable.

tracking seamed to work very well.
_________________
Remember to trust me, I am an Engineer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rp8hvyjZWHs

Post Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:24 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Glen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 9481
Location: Where you least expect


 Reply with quote  

Ditto, works great even in its infancy. Video lag wasn't really noticeable.

Managed to ram the other robot on its side and break off the marker too hahaa. is that a knockout?
_________________
www.demon50s.com - Minimoto parts
http://www.youtube.com/user/HyzerGlen - Videoooozzz

Post Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:52 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
seanet1310



Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1265
Location: Adelaide


 Reply with quote  

hahaha, guess so. with the green arrow bot appearing to be weaponless and a lipo taped to the front of the red one preventing its weapon from grabbing closest thing to a win can be done atm
_________________
Remember to trust me, I am an Engineer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rp8hvyjZWHs

Post Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:05 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

Righto so lots of TODO.

Hardware
1 - Make 2 identical decent robots, probably with very large batteries.
2 - Give them their own arena and a proper camera mount.
3 - If/When I get it stable enough acquire a High Power PC to run the software.


Software
1 - Make the programs quit properly
2 - Tracking tweaking, camera calibration, marker sizes, arena size, ect
3 - Improve Markers/robot icons
4 - Make 2 User logins.
5 - Maybe alternative to Skype to allow multiple viewers
6 - Package for windows EXE
7 - Move to positions
8 - Autonomously return to "Home" charging position
9 - Integrated IMU for scoring.

Welcome for suggestions preferred order of development. Maybe could even go larger in the future...
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:52 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

This is probably going to turn into my new pet project now that ESC hacking has toned down.

Here is first shell for Netbot V1

It will have PCB top and a servo lifter. Needs to be rewired but this is it thrown together for the night.

The hard thing to manage will be the charging. The ESCs use like 100mah /hr in standby so its not really possible to leave them sitting there without charging all the time. I might be able to switch to a B328 particularly for integrating with a few different things.

Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:47 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

Where did you get the thick poly?
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:12 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Knightrous
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 8511
Location: NSW


 Reply with quote  

quote:
Originally posted by Philip:
Where did you get the thick poly?

Ebay Cutting board
_________________
https://www.halfdonethings.com/

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:14 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

Yeh its pretty soft stuff. 19mm thick I just milled a pocket into it. You can buy 25mm thick stuff but its pretty expensive. I can cut you an antweight sized square if you want one. Or can probably mill you a profile.

Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:39 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
seanet1310



Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1265
Location: Adelaide


 Reply with quote  

if you want some 19-20mm cutting board I have quite a few KG laying around from when it use to be armour of my feathers. I do not have a huge amount of use for it now.
_________________
Remember to trust me, I am an Engineer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rp8hvyjZWHs

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:13 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
dyrodium
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 6476
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

I hit up CBC recently for some some serious 50mm thick blocks of UHMW for $10 ea... aprox A4 size. Smile

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:28 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Knightrous
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 8511
Location: NSW


 Reply with quote  

quote:
Originally posted by dyrodium:
I hit up CBC recently for some some serious 50mm thick blocks of UHMW for $10 ea... aprox A4 size. Smile


I hate you >.>
_________________
https://www.halfdonethings.com/

Post Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:12 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

Thank you for your offers. I still have some cutting board right now. When I run out, I will see if anyone still has some they no longer need.
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:20 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      

Forum Jump:
Jump to:  

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 2

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Last Thread | Next Thread  >
Powered by phpBB: © 2001 phpBB Group
millenniumFalcon Template By Vereor.