www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

Yuppie seeks wisdom
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Author    Thread
Cognisant

Yuppie seeks wisdom

Hello, noob here, a little introduction first, I've been seriously interested in AI theory for years now and that's what brought me to robotics, I'm currently building a quadcopter for fun (hopefully profit) and I'm thrilled to meet all you wonderfully knowledgeable people, please share with me your wisdom as I endeavour to find a place for myself in this little community.

So here's m'plan, since I have no formal engineering background of any sort I'm just going to tell you guys what I'm trying to do, how I'm trying to do it, and you can tell me how I'm doing it all wrong, sound good?

Ideally I would like to enter my first tournament this year, the bot I have in mind is a roughly "T" shaped thing with two wheels taller than the bot itself so it can be flipped over and still drive, the weapon will be a internal flywheel powered oscillating blade, angled downward but not scraping the floor, two height adjustable ball-bearing-like wheels (I forget what they're called, I suppose a couple of screws would do the same job with a little more friction) will let me adjust the blade's height.

Sorry if that's confusing, the blade isn't mounted downward it's just the wedge like shape of the bot itself with the tall wheels at the back that puts the whole frame on a forward tilt which means in operation the forward pointing blade points downward at an adjustable angle.