www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

Student's designing robowars for Graphics
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Author    Thread
labra23

Student's designing robowars for Graphics

Hi my name is Linda Abraham and I am an ITD teacher of year 9 boys. I have introduced the students to the Robowars Australia website. We will be designing and modelling our conceptual robots on the CAD program inventor professional in Graphics class. Currently we are in the process of researching our design ideas. As a result, would you be able to answer the students design questions as part of their research? It would be great if you could each answer a students set of questions?
My students and I eagerly look forward to hearing from you!
Regards,
Linda

Student 1
1. What is better to use, a bigger, slower, tougher and stronger hitting robot or a smaller, faster, not as tough and quicker hitting robot?

2. What weapons are more affective and why?

3. What materials are stronger but not as heavy and why?

4. What are better, tracks from a tank, 6 smallish wheels or four big wheels and why?

5. What is better to use, more defensive than attack or more attack than defensive and why?

Student 2
1. What is the better design choice? : slow moving, armoured and heavy hitting? Or a quicker, light weight and faster attacking design?

2. When designing a robot what do you take into consideration?

3. When creating a robot would you choose defensive or offensive?

4. What types of materials would be best suited as armour?

5. In your past experience what types of robots succeed over others and what are the designs that don’t succeed and why?

Student 3
1. Which movement types were the most effective and why?

2. Which weapons were the most effective/most successful? Why?

3. What were the most common designs?

4. What design features are the most important?

5. Which designs were the least successful in the competition?

Student 4