www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> New Builders

new builder
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Author    Thread
James2

new builder

hi all,

I'm James from SA, been looking in to roboWars for a while now and finally decided to give it a go. Just looking for some advice from the community and information on any events that are around.

For experience i'm an electrician by trade. I have been racing rc short course tucks for many years.

cheers all.

Post Thu May 07, 2015 7:44 pm 
marto
Experienced Roboteer

Great to hear from you.

Really these days we only have a few big events a year. I am doing something at Vivid Sydney in 3 weeks. Or there is the Nationals in Brisbane in October. Doing stuff local is great but its hard to get the numbers and motivation without a big crowd.

Are you keen to travel? They are usually pretty interesting weekends.

Steve

Post Thu May 07, 2015 10:50 pm 
James2

I am keen to know if theres anyone in sa just to have a good look at one to see and get a good starting point.

Post Fri May 08, 2015 10:23 am 
marto
Experienced Roboteer

Sean is around for the moment though not sure how much longer is in adelaide.

Steve

Post Fri May 08, 2015 12:35 pm 
seanet1310

A South Australian, welcome. I am a South Australian (Adelaide) but only until the day before Vivid (late May 15) unfortunately.

While my current robot is quite terrible as it was built very quickly and and now butchered to have a new weapon, I may have some free time next weekend around preparing to move.
If you have done RC trucks you will be familiar with all the basics to get a robot moving like RX, motors, batteries (generally lithium now) and ESC (although hobby brushed ESC are not generally up to the task although people are having luck with brushless for drives).