www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Builders Reports

Warbros - Andre NSW
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Author    Thread
Ondray

Warbros - Andre NSW

I'll start my build thread with my first 'finished' bot Corpus:

Finishing involved adding a master switch, power light and a flail. It's pretty fail, but I've learned a lot.

Today I started playing with stuff to build a sportsman for vivid, here's the very rough layout (yet to be named):

Two ozito drill motors - the wheels were added today and two electric window motors from an old volvo (so indestructible). The plan is to use the low speed and high torque of the window motors to run some short lifter arms (which won't be shifters in the build). I wasn't initially thinking of making a wide bot, but after playing with the parts on the floor I think I like it, makes it harder to get around and keeps the center of gravity over the wheels and at the axis of the lifter arms. Plus I can add some thwack weapons on the sides. A pretty simple build, going to go with the rectangular section again I like working with it, but I may invest in some brazing equipment so the Al can hold itself together without the top and bottom. Biggest thing I'm pondering on at the moment is whether if or not to make the wheels bigger so it's invertable, the bunnings red wheels are 95mm and the window motors are 100mm, so going to the 125mm wheels would allow for invertiblity.

I was playing with arduino/esp8266 with some 30A ebay h-bridges with a grand plan of an xbox controller/tablet controlled bot. I haven't got very far. So now I think I'll save the headache for now and go with the RC equipment I bought to get started on corpus. Which is a nice easy to program turnigy transmitter and receiver plus some 10A crappy ebay speed controllers. The 10A speed controllers will definitely need to be upgraded to some at least 30A, probably going to go with botbitz (looking for advice there).