www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> New Builders

New builder, looking for advice on sportsman robots!

Author    Thread
Xypress

New builder, looking for advice on sportsman robots!

Hello, I have recently developed interest in building robots and I have no previous experience with this!

I would love any advice people could give me about what kind of things they have found that worked for their sportsman robots in the past, because I would like to start building one soon and I don't really know what kind of weapons, builds or weight will work.

Post Wed May 11, 2016 5:36 pm 
Nick
Experienced Roboteer

Welcome to the forum!

To start with, have a read of the official building rules: http://sparc.tools/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/SPARC_Robot_Construction_Specifications_v1.0.pdf and our much easier to digest chat about those rules: http://www.robowars.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1880&start=0

For weapons, CO2 flippers are about the most effective, but are difficult to build so I wouldn't recommend them as a first bot. Electric lifters are much easier to build and nearly as effective. Circular saws look intimidating but don't do much damage unless they have a seriously powerful motor driving them and there are some restrictions on the size & type of blade. Lifting & crushing bots are effective but complicated, probably not a good first bot unless you have a well equipped workshop.

For drive, a pair of hacked cordless drill motors is a good starting point and there are many good YouTube videos on how to use them. For an off the shelf solution, Banebots P60 gearmotors are a compact and durable alternative. Most builders use the Bot Bitz TZ80A ESC to control the motors but they are not available for a few months. There are several tutorials on how to reprogram the TZ85A ESC yourself and its not too hard if you are handy with computers.

Post Wed May 11, 2016 8:29 pm 
Ondray

Hi,