whats a bot?
33%
 33%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 6

Author    Thread
digitalebola

Yes.. unfortunatly in RC i'm a newbie. Couple of stupid q's

Hi guys!

Attended my first botwars event saturday night at sidetracked! Was great.. Totally put me in gear for forming a team and creating some bots of doom!

Anyways i have some designs drawn up, but just a few basic questions if i may.

Motors, any suggestions? I was thinking cordless drill motors from supercheap auto ($15 ish with chargers)

Batteries, unsure if i will go nicad or sealed lead/acid (depending on weight of chassis)

Control board: I obviously need some form of control board, but this is where it gets confusing.. At the event i heard talk of a relay control board that will do the job for about $70.00AUS (how does it perform? or is it worth getting the $300 one?) and also do i need an ESC also? or just the $300 board?

And as for weaponry, what kinds of motors do you recommend? I was thinking of aquiring a cordless angle grinder motor and hacking it up........

Are there any easier options that i'm overlooking? 12v motors from windscreen wipers/washers in cars or radiator fan motors and such..

I have about a $600 budget at this stage (thats flexable) to make something decent. Also not sure on what kind of armor to use, however i realise this is a personal decision.. i'm thinking 0.5mm thick aluminium, but it depends on the total weight.

And what kind of remote control do i purchase? And where from?

If there is some form of guide that answers all these questions in detail and provides URL's for good sources of parts (without costing the earth) by all means bring them on Smile

I'm basically thinking of creating a spinner as it should theoretically be an easier first bot thats still strong and effective.. and i didnt even see 1 at the last meet Very Happy

Cheers guys and i hope to be doing battle very soon! The quicker the better

Post Mon May 09, 2005 4:56 pm