www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> General Chatter

total noob
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Author    Thread
cj

total noob

Hi,

I have been interested in getting involved with something like Robowars for some time and the Ideas Festival gave me the opportunity to witness them first hand. Now the interest is enflamed and I am gunna do something about it.

I have no gear at all and not a huge budget. I am going to spend prob a month with a pen and paper before I purchase a thing, but will be looking around at what things there are to be purchased. First of which is RC gear, so my noob question is:

Should I get a std 4-6ch radio or one of these newfangled DX6 spread spectrum jobbies? I figure that at the 'bot end it'll be the same and I reckon I'd get an IBC too - is that the best thing?

ta muchly,
cj

Post Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:57 pm 
Knightrous
Site Admin

Spend the extra and get a Spektrum... I drove Vertical Limits all weekend at the Ideas Festival without a single glitch using Spektrum, it even out performed Team KO's PCM radio which glitched a few times... There is nothing worse then sitting in the arena twiching because of the lack of radio, T2M suffered bad radio and lost two matches because it just simply couldn't move during the battle...

Post Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:03 pm 
andrew

if u want get a IBC but it isnt critical especially for people starting out in this, mine and many others first machines when we wee first starting uses servo switch setups which only gave bang bang controll which was good enough but a IBc is very nice indeedy and certainly helps alot especially if u have a weopon to activate.

My robot Orbit (the one with the very large vertical disc) after its match against Jolt (overhead bar that is prob nastiest bot in Aus) after about 4 hits afrom Jolt and wheels propeed off ground the IBC box's top was sjifted and eveyrthing crooked and the cable ties that help Ibc in etc had snapped and it didnt skip a beat which was interesting.