( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

Post Wed Jan 12, 2005 6:20 pm 
Glen
Experienced Roboteer

http://www.powerlabs.org/

Post Wed Jan 12, 2005 6:22 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
dyrodium
Experienced Roboteer

Yeah, I've seen that, but these places sell kits! Crazy!

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Post Wed Jan 12, 2005 6:42 pm 
Maelstrom

Those sites are a load of BS bigtime, especially Plans and Kits (Scams and Sh!t) and the Powerlabs site (his "railgun" is just a noisy and expensive spark shooter, he is ridiculed on all reputable electronics and science sites).

Post Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:56 pm 
dyrodium
Experienced Roboteer

lol, thought so... Smile

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Post Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:47 am 
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin

Actually, I'd like to take exception to that comment about Sam Barros Powerlabs and ask for some proof of of your statement.

I'm an Electronic Engineer myself, (although my experience is mainly in the Microprocessor field, which limits my ability to detect high-voltage/power electronics BS) and I've had a few browses around the PowerLabs site and nothing seemed particuarly false to me.

A little showy and gee-wow perhaps, but thats the nature of the toys he is playing.. Tesla Coils, Rail Guns etc are all like that.

I agree that a lot of peple out there who are selling "plans" to build something are often scammers, and the seller has not even got a prototype running before they start selling plans to all the suckers out there..

However you can see Video's of all of Sams projects actually working, along with detailed descriptions and enough information to make me accept that he generally seems to understand what he is talking about (as far as I can tell..)